Frumpy Dress Makeover

Last weekend I visited one of my very best friends. Between cups of tea, catching up on sewing projects and our latest favourite reads, we squeezed in a bit of thrift store shopping. I spotted this April Cornell dress, fell in love with the print, not so much the size or shape. It reminded me of this dress from Brora, so I popped it into my cart. My friend agreed that a major chop was in order, and I set to work on transforming it this week. I shortened the hem, took in the side seams and darts, and made the sleeves 3/4 length, gathered into a band. I’m pleased with the results! I thought that I would feature the dress 6 different ways. Something I love seeing on blogs such as Handmade by Carolyn. The frumpy dress ‘before’. The ‘after’, styled 6 different ways. Dress: April Cornell, thrifted Brown woven belt: thrifted Brown leather boots: LL Bean Grey tights: Joe Fresh Glasses: Anna Sui Mustard wool shawl: just off the needles! Burgundy tights: Walmart (thanks for the tip Andrea!) Red velvet jacket: American Eagle Outfitters, thrifted Hand beaded headband: Quirky Beauty Glasses: Kliik Knit vest: thrifted Black boots: daughters closet Grey wool sweater: Merona, thrifted Mustard scarf: kids dress up bin Mid photo shoot cuddle!

7 thoughts on “Frumpy Dress Makeover

  1. Very nice! I like all your looks, especially the mustard shawl. You’re such a talented lady!
    This is what I often intend to do with clothes that I buy at the thrift store that don’t fit quite right. But, alas, I am not very good at actually getting to my repairs basket and they usually sit around forever! Way to go on getting it done straight away!

  2. Thanks friend. I’m trying to be very good about only keeping/buying what I will actually wear. It basically involved getting rid of 75% of my wardrobe! Starting (almost) from scratch feels pretty great. I plan on getting a post together soon about my wardrobe makeover:)

  3. Hi Miranda, you are a thrifting wizard and I can’t believe what you’ve done with that dress, it looks amazing and yes, very Brora! Love all the modelling shots. Love your new shawl too.
    As you planning on visiting your Aunt some day?
    Kate xox

Leave a Reply

