Laura Ashley Love

My love for all things Laura Ashley peaked in the late 80’s, when my room was festooned in baby blue walls, a Laura Ashley bedding set, and straw hats on the walls. My friend and I had a little flashback moment a few years ago, when we thought that it would be a great idea to pull out our old Laura Ashley dresses, and start wearing them again. Our husbands quickly shut it down.

My heart however, still skips a beat when I spy a vintage Laura Ashley dress. This particular dress was made of lovely, heavy velvet and printed with cabbage roses and brooches. Oh, and it had large puffed sleeves. Very Dynasty! You can see what the dress looked like here from a seller on Etsy. No, I didn’t pay $125 for my dress, and I did have a split second of regret about cutting it up, after seeing the going price for it. Never mind. I am happy with how my self drafted a-line skirt turned out. I guess I am a bit old to be rocking puffed sleeves anyway!DSC_0005

DSC_0008

DSC_0007

9 thoughts on “Laura Ashley Love

  1. I love the skirt! And the jacket – very nice! Where’s the jacket from?
    And you’ve got me convinced me now – coloured tights it is!
    You pulled off another beautiful outfit!
    Elizabeth

    • Thanks Elizabeth. The jacket came from a tiny Salvation Army that I visited this summer, when we were staying at the lake. I don’t think that I can visit a town without checking out the local thrift store!
      Yes, coloured tights is where it’s at:)

  2. Though I love the style of that dress, I kind of think I would only wear it if it was a solid colour. And in the end, where would you have worn it? I don’t know about you, but I don’t go to many fancy do’s these days… Sometimes I love things that hang in my closet for years. Good for you for chopping it up and wearing it! Great job!

    • Yes, very true. I don’t often wear velvet to the grocery store:) I do sometimes miss having a ‘do’ to go to. I think maybe for fun we will get fancy for New Years, even though we don’t have any special plans.

  3. Thank you for featuring a dress from my shop. This Laura Ashley dress still has it’s original tags! If I could squeeze myself into it, I would have kept it all for myself.

Leave a Reply

