My Sewing Studio

I have just finished rearranging my current sewing space; a corner of our basement. This space also serves as our t.v room and also the kids playroom. The light is not great, and it is a tad chilly down there, but for the moment, it works.

Sewing Room

I thought that it would be fun to chat a bit about dream sewing studios. In the past I have set up sewing spaces in an unfinished basement, a living room, a hallway and this past summer, in a one bedroom trailer. The space that seems to function best, is one that is smack dab in the middle of the action. I find that a sewing space tucked away in a spare bedroom or basement, does not get used. My ideal would be a room just off of our main floor living area. Like the sunroom room that is currently being claimed by our one year old puppy, Hugo. Ahem. Just sayin’.

Now for the fun. My dream sewing space would contain the following things: an industrial sewing machine (oh the speed, the power!), a regular sewing machine, a serger, an oversize ironing table, a garment steamer, and right in the middle of the room, a giant cutting table. I would love a table that is built to a comfortable height, and covered with a giant self heal board. The price of the boards at craft and sewing stores is very costly, but I have found a cheaper alternative that I think will work; a giant self heal matt from a drafting supply store. That way I could just use pattern weights and a rotary cutter to cut out my patterns.

Storage is also high on my list. I like a mix of vintage furniture pieces (dressers, china cabinets), and good old standbys like the Expedit shelving unit from Ikea.

Some studios of note are Alicia Paulson’s gorgeous, light filled studio, and Anna Maria Horner’s bright, funky studio.

What are some of your dream sewing studio ideas?

7 thoughts on “My Sewing Studio

  1. That looks great, and gives me hope that my space will work! I have the Expedit shelves in the basement for toys and in my son’s room for even more toys, love them – particularly the very sturdy coloured bins.

  2. So funny…this is just what I am in the process of doing! We recently moved and I spent like two hours looking for my scissors as all my stuff is packed in the basement. I’ll let you know how mine turns out. Any tips?

    • It is always fun setting up a new space. I think my main tip would be to have lots of clearly labelled storage. There is nothing worse than wasting time searching for a particular thread or notion. I feel like I’m on a continual quest for better organization!

      • Thanks! Yes that is my main problem right now. All my stuff is in my basement due to a recent move. I had somethings marked before the move but since then it has been a complete mess! What do use for storage–plastic containers, shoe-boxes, custom made?

      • I lined the metal egg crates on the dresser, and they are filled with fabric. The dresser also holds fabric. The wooden boxes with drawers on my table are from Ikea. I covered the fronts with printed paper and labelled each drawer. I still need better storage for my thread. It is a bit of a mess:)

  3. My studio is an absolute mess! It’s been that way for months! I don’t have enough room for all that I have and just as I get it almost cleaned up, I get busy again and it becomes a huge mess all over again! I wish I had a whole day with no other obligations and responsibilities to be in there and organize it properly.

Leave a Reply

