Free Pattern: Colour Block Kimono Shirt

Kimono Shirt
Kimono Shirt

What is it about freezing cold weather that makes me want to sew clothing for spring? I was on a search for free sewing patterns a few weeks ago and I found a great French site Advantages Magazine, which has free patterns under the ‘Couture’ category. I have made a couple of the patterns so far, the first being this pattern for a Kimono blouse. I love the simplicity of the pattern, and I thought that it would translate well into the colour block trend that is popular this year. Speaking of translating, google translate produces a rather amusing translation for the pattern instructions. If you are experienced with patterns, I don’t think that you will have any trouble figuring it out on your own! To download the pattern, scroll to the bottom of the page and click ‘Telechargez le Patron’. To download the pattern layout click ‘Telechargez le Schema’.

Some pattern notes;  I sewed the smallest pattern size, which is the size ’38’. For comparison, I am a size 6 on top. I took 2 inches off of the width of the sleeves, and blended it into the side seams. The original design has the sleeve going straight across to the bodice, but because I was using linen and not the silk as suggested in the pattern, the sleeves were a little full and they stuck out in an awkward manner. I also left off the contrast sleeve facing and the contrast hem band. Because of this I lengthened the shirt by 1 1/2 inches. I used linen from my stash, but it would also be beautiful made with voile.
This photo shows how I curved the sleeves into the side seams:
Sleeves
If you are looking for a quick and easy sewing project for spring, this is the one!

4 thoughts on “Free Pattern: Colour Block Kimono Shirt

    • Thanks Carolyn. I forgot to mention in the post that I did a little overdying for the pink fabric. It was a peachy colour before.
      I’m loving your paper doll project! Fingered crossed that I get a Fashionary for Valentine’s Day:)

Leave a Reply

