Free Pattern: Voile Pajama’s

P.j's

Cuff
Bow

This past summer I bought some Anna Maria Horner voile that was on sale at Huggeligt. The fabric sat in my stash until a couple of weeks ago, because as gorgeous as the fabric is, I couldn’t think of what to do with it. I love colour, but the print is a little louder than I usually wear. I spotted a free pattern for pyjama’s on the Advantages Magazine website. Voile pyjama’s? Oh yes! These loungers from Anthropologie served as the inspiration for the wide contrast cuff. I nixed the pyjama top, and opted to use a tank I have that just happened to be the perfect match.

Some pattern notes; I sewed the size 40 pant, but I found that I needed to add an extra 1/2 ease in the thigh area. I usually wear a size 8 bottoms. Luckily I had the foresight to sew up a muslin of the pants, using some cotton that I had put aside for such a purpose. I know that it is an extra step, but I highly recommend sewing up a muslin, especially if you are using special fabric. There is nothing worse than making something that doesn’t fit right! I added a 6″ cuff to the bottom and a bow to the waist using contrasting fabric.

There is a nice DIY for a pair of shirred voile p.j pant bottoms at Noodlehead. I may have to make these, as I am now a little addicted to sewing with voile!

2 thoughts on “Free Pattern: Voile Pajama’s

Leave a Reply

