Vanilla Cardamon Lip Balm Recipe

DSC_0096 2 DSC_0104 DSC_0098

Hello Monday! Well, vacation time is over, so this may be the last post for a little bit. I wanted to give you my lip balm recipe before I get too busy and it is put on the bottom of my to do list! I had in mind to make lip balm for Christmas presents, but lacked the oils required for most of the recipes that I saw online. Then I found this wonderful article that gives the ratios of oils needed to make lip balm. I use the Soap Calc to figure out my soap recipes, and figured that there must be a similar calculator for cosmetics. I was right! The batch size calculator allows you to punch in your oils, your batch size, and then it creates your recipe. Here is my recipe for natural lip balm. Enjoy.

Vanilla Cardamon Lip Balm Recipe

Makes one 8 oz batch of lip balm

1.6 oz grated beeswax
2 oz coconut oil
1.2 oz palm kernel oil
.8 oz castor oil
1.2 oz infused avocado oil (instructions to follow)
1.2 oz infused almond oil (instructions to follow)

Melt beeswax in a double boiler, add solid oils, followed by liquid oils. Mix well and remove from heat. Pour into small lip balm containers and let cool before capping.

To make vanilla cardamon infused oil:

Pour avocado and almond oil into a small pot. Heat until just warm over low heat. Chop up 2-4 organic vanilla pods and add to pot. Add 2 TBSP of cardamon seeds to pot. Remove from heat, cover and let sit for 1 hour. Use right away, or for a more intense scent, pour in a glass jar and let steep for 1 week. Strain oil through a fine sieve or cheesecloth before using.

The first batch I made (the darker of the two) had about a 1 teaspoon of red palm oil added to the oils. I wanted the added benefits of vitamin E and A that red palm oil is well known for. The second batch had only 1/2 of a teaspoon, and I am happier with the results of that batch.

Do you like my bar code labels? I created them using this free bar code generator.

Leave a Reply

